In the next issue (available in February) of the american snowboard magazine SNOWBOARDER, you will find their awards regarding the best riders of the Year.

Votes were provided by a group of pro-riders composed of: Andrea Wiig, Frederik Kalbermatten, Eddie Wall, Leanne Pelosi, David Carrier-Porcheron, Gretchen Bleiler, Shaun White, Travis Rice, Nicolas Müller, David Benedek, Chris Engelsman, Tara Dakides, Mikey Leblanc, Marc Frank Montoya, JP Walker, Andrew Crawford, Jeremy Jones (the freestyler), Jeremy Jones (the freerider), Romain De Marchi, Devun Walsh, Chad Otterstrom, Ross Powers, Priscilla Levac, Danny Kass, Lukas Huffman, Peter Line, Todd Richards, Gigi Rüf, Bjorn Leines, Eero Ettala, Ali Goulet and Jussi Oksanen

And the winners are…

N°10 : JP Walker (NAM)
N°9 : Danny Kass (NAM)
N°8 : Jeremy Jones (NAM) the one who shreds rails !!
N°7 : Andreas Wiig (NAM)
N°6 : Gigi Rüf (Europe)
N°5 : Travis Rice (NAM)
N°4 : Devun Walsh (NAM)
N°3 : Nicolas Müller (Europe)
N°2 : Eero Ettala (Europe)
N°1 : Shaun White (NAM)

So it’s 3 European riders in the top 10 and 2 in the top 3!
Guess it was impossible to beat the Flying tomato for this season’s top spot. He’s been on the highest step of every important contest last season including the Olympics.

For an Euro rider to appear in this list is a big achievement. Eero totally exploded last season, scoring one of the best video parts in an American movie and kicking ass in contests worldwide. He’s unlucky because we’re sure he wasn’t very far from top spot.

However in our opininon, one rider is missing out on this top 10. It’s 0506 TTR worldchamp Mat Crépel. Last season Mat was the most consistent rider, showing his skills in slopestyle, halfpipe, big air and quarter pipe events. He is not big in videos yet and maybe that’s why the Americans don’t know him so good…

The Women’s Rider of the Year went to Natasza Zurek (NAM). Probably Euro riders Anne-Flore Marxer and Cheryl Maas were right behind her.
Rookie of the year is Danny Davis (NAM). We believe Marko Grilc, the slovene Burton rider who exploded to the world last season thanks to 91 words for Snow deserves to be mentionned.
And Big Mountain Rider of the Year is the uncontested Jeremy Jones (NAM).
The Video of the Year award goes to MDP’s “Follow Me Around”.

What’s your opinion on that ranking?? Leave us your comments and award YOUR best riders for 2006!!

Maybe you want to check this other type of Rider ranking that we told you about allready in November.